Tags

, , , ,

So Alabama’s judiciary is proving itself to be sufficiently backwards that it’s difficult to tell if we as a nation are being collectively trolled by an attempt to live up to the “Southern Redneck Rebel” stereotype in such a spectacular fashion.

I mean, sure, I can get that it’s a rather more religious part of the country than the one I live in.  Delaware isn’t exactly a hotbed of theological fervor, after all, and for the most part I actually do accept that there are a significant number of people out there, misguided though they may be, who buy into the line that homosexuality is a sin and that by railing against it they’re actually protecting people from an eternity of damnation.

I just believe that the aforementioned poor, misguided souls are in the distinct minority, and that the vast majority of opposition to marriage equality comes not from the well-meaning evangelist, but from the ignorant, bigoted asshole with an unnatural interest in what other people do with their genitalia.

Honestly, if I were living in Alabama I’d be mortified by the actions of many of their judges, though I’m sure that I might be more accepting of their decisions if my parents had raised me differently.  You know.  Raised me to be a bigot.

Which, praise Jibbers, they didn’t.

Now I’m sure there are those out there who believe that this is a matter of “State’s Rights”, and that the federal government is overreaching itself in imposing marriage equality on the country as a whole.  These people also probably believe that the Civil War wasn’t really about slavery, and generally refer to it as “The War of Northern Aggression”, but that’s besides the point.

Because they’re wrong.

See, if the federal government were trying to dictate terms to religious establishments, saying “Well, it doesn’t matter that in your eyes it’s a sin, you still have to give your personal version of god’s blessing to this union”, then that would clearly be an overreach.

But, obviously, they’re not doing that.

No, the Supreme Court very much has the power to enforce marriage equality, for the sole reason that marriage allows for special legal privileges allotted only to the married.

Without that legal status, the 14th Amendment wouldn’t apply, because there would be no laws to guarantee equal protection under.

And why do those laws exist?

Why, to encourage people to get married, of course!

The irony for me here is that the people who are railing hardest against the concept of “gay marriage” are no doubt of the exact same mentality as many of those who pushed for special legal status for married couples, on the grounds of incentivizing marriage, since by doing so you could save the heathen souls who might otherwise go on “living in sin”.

Guess what guys, it worked!  You did induce more people to get married!

Of course, your plan rather backfired now didn’t it?  And don’t think but that that fact doesn’t warm the very cockles of my heart, since if there’s one thing I can’t stand, it’s bigots, especially when they’re sitting on the judge’s bench.

